Review: “The One That Got Away” by Edward M. Grant

Nibbled on this story by Edward M. Grant the other day. I’m a fan, ever since I read his Konrath 8-hour Challenge story, Welcome to The Future, so I got reeled in.

Here’s a sci-fi fish story, a short but “Kraken” good yarn, a classically-styled time-traveller’s tale to curl up with by the fire on a chilly November night.

This is quite a short tale, and revealing almost anything of the story might spoil it. It reminded me of Wells and Verne and the original Jaws movie… and my husband, who is insane about fishing and has had two (2!) small-boat encounters with great white sharks. (Of course, they were on Earth, present day, no space suit required.)

While I didn’t love The One That Got Away quite as much as Welcome To The Future (I would have given that one 7 out of 5 stars if I could), I’d definitely bite on more adventures from Uncle Jim and his time-travelling Morris Minor!

5 stars will have to do.

4 responses

  1. This is such a delightful review I’m tempted to ditch my Nano nonsense and read the story. But I must resist all temptation except basic needs. For now, your review will have to suffice. Great post!

    1. Yes. You must resist until after NaNo!

  2. Thanks for the tip 🙂

  3. I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads, since that’s a different set of criteria. But for Amazon, 5.

Leave a Reply

