I know I am but summer to your heart

Hope you enjoyed this reblog from one of my favorite authors.

Carol Ervin's Author Site

Joe Pye WeedI have a lot of random thoughts, and I’m sometimes guilty of writing in random fashion, neglecting to show how one thought connects with another. In talk, too, I’m likely to confuse listeners with seemingly unrelated comments.

So what’s the connection between an Edna St. Vincent Millay poem and a habit of random thinking?  Only that the poem has been running through my mind, and I’m curious to know why. I hope this writing will help me figure it out.

The title is memorable, full of grace and suggestion. On the surface, the poem expresses an unusual relationship between two people, possibly Millay and her spouse (written the year before her marriage) or one of her lovers. Whoever the pair, she recognizes that they are not the limits of each other’s world: “…And you must welcome from another part / Such noble moods as are not mine, my dear.”

Millay’s approach to this…

View original post 479 more words

Leave a Reply

